Hugo Issue

The 2004 Hugo Award Winners

Best Novel - Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold

Best Novella - "The Cookie Monster" by Vernor Vinge

Best Novelette - "Legions in Time" by Michael Swanwick

Best Short Story - "A Study in Emerald" by Neil Gaiman

Best Related Book – The Chesley Awards for Science Fiction and Fantasy Art: A Retrospective by John Grant, Elizabeth L. Humphrey, and Pamela D. Scoville

Best Professional Editor - Gardner Dozois

Best Professional Artist - Bob Eggleton

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form - The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form – Gollum's Acceptance Speech at the 2003 MTV Movie Awards

Best Semi-Prozine – Locus, Charles N. Brown, Jennifer A. Hall, and Kirsten Gong-Wong, eds.

Best Fanzine - Emerald City, Cheryl Morgan, ed.

Best Fan Writer - Dave Langford

Best Fan Artist - Frank Wu

John W. Campbell Award for New Writers (not a Hugo Award) – Jay Lake

Special Noreascon Four Committee Award (not a Hugo Award) - Erwin "Filthy Pierre" Strauss

Detailed award statistics for both the Hugo Awards and Retrospective Hugo Awards are available at the Noreascon Four web site at http://www.noreascon.org and include full results using the Preferential Ballot method.

2004 Hugo Awards Ranking

(first through fifth place)

Best Novel

Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold Ilium by Dan Simmons Singularity Sky by Charles Stross Blind Lake by Robert Charles Wilson Humans by Robert J. Sawyer

Best Novella

"The Cookie Monster" by Vernor Vinge
"The Empress of Mars" by Kage Baker
"Just Like the Ones We Used to Know" by Connie Willis
"The Green Leopard Plague" by Walter Jon Williams
"Walk in Silence" by Catherine Asaro

Best Novelette

"Legions in Time" by Michael Swanwick
"The Empire of Ice Cream" by Jeffrey Ford
"Nightfall" by Charles Stross
"Into the Gardens of Sweet Night" by Jay Lake
"Bernardo's House" by James Patrick Kelly
"Hexagons" by Robert Reed

Best Short Story

"A Study in Emerald" by Neil Gaiman
"Paying It Forward" by Michael A. Burstein
"Robots Don't Cry" by Mike Resnick
"Four Short Novels" by Joe Haldeman
"Tale of the Golden Eagle" by David D. Levine

Best Related Book

The Chesley Awards

by John Grant, Elizabeth L. Humphrey, and Pamela D. Scoville

The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide by Jeff VanderMeer, and Mark Roberts

Spectrum 10: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy and Arnie Fenner

Dreamer of Dune: The Biography of Frank Herbert by Brian Herbert

Scores: Reviews 1993 - 2003

by John Clute

Master Storyteller: The Fiction of L. Ron Hubbard by William J. Widder

Best Professional Editor

Gardner Dozois Ellen Datlow David Hartwell Stanley Schmidt Gordon Van Gelder

The *Triplanetary Gazette* is the daily newsletter of Horeascon 4, the 62nd World Science Fiction Convention at the Hynes Convention Center in Boston, Massachusetts 2 – 6 September 2004

Best Professional Artist

Bob Eggleton Donato Giancola Frank Kelly Freas Frank Frazetta Jim Burns

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl X2: X-Men United Finding Nemo 28 Days Later

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

"Gollum's Acceptance Speech at the 2003 MTV Movie Awards"
"The Message" - Firefly
"Chosen" - Buffy the Vampire Slayer
"Heart of Gold" - Firefly
"Rosetta" - Smallville

Best Semiprozine

Locus, Charles N. Brown, Jennifer A. Hall,
and Kirsten Gong-Wong, eds.

The New York Review of Science Fiction, Kathryn Cramer,
David G. Hartwell, and Kevin Maroney, eds.

Interzone, David Pringle, ed.

Ansible, Dave Langford, ed.

The Third Alternative, Andy Cox, ed.

Best Fanzine

Emerald City, Cheryl Morgan, ed.

Mimosa, Rich and Nicki Lynch, eds.

Plokta, Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott, eds.

File 770, Mike Glyer, ed.

Challenger, Guy H. Lillian III, ed.

Best Fan Writer

Dave Langford Cheryl Morgan Bob Devney John L. Flynn Jeff Berkwits

Best Fan Artist

Frank Wu Sue Mason Teddy Harvia Brad Foster Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Jr. Award

Jay Lake David D. Levine Karin Lowachee Tim Pratt Chris Moriarty